Pray for the Peace of Sudan

The situation in the Sudan’s western Darfur region screams for our participation. A recent Washington Post report highlights how splintered and dangerous the situation is:

While the government and militia attacks on straw-hut villages that defined the earlier years of the conflict continue, Darfur is now home to semi-organized crime and warlordism, with marijuana-smoking rebels, disaffected government militias and anyone else with an AK-47 taking part, according to U.N. officials.

The situation is a symptom of how fragmented the conflict has become. There were two rebel groups, but now there are dozens, some of which include Arab militiamen who once sided with the government. The founding father of the rebellion lives in Paris. And the struggle in the desert these days is less about liberating oppressed Darfurians than about acquiring the means to power: money, land, trucks.

So what am I to do? How can I relieve the pain, or end the injustice? Should I jump on a plane or raise millions of dollars or begin an awareness campaign? Maybe. Have you asked God what he wants you to do – if there is a role for you to play?

Our first work is prayer. Prayer is not what we do when we don’t know what else to do; its not the last resort of the hopeless. Oswald Chambers said, “Prayer is not a preparation for the work, it is the work. Prayer is not a preparation for the battle, it is the battle.”

  • Jeremiah 33:3 Call to me and I will answer you, and will tell you great and hidden things that you have not known.
  • Matthew 21:22 And whatever you ask in prayer, you will receive, if you have faith.
  • Luke 11:9 And I tell you, ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you.
  • John 16:23 Truly, truly, I say to you, whatever you ask of the Father in my name, he will give it to you.
  • John 14:14 If you ask me anything in my name, I will do it.
  • Psalm 50:13-15 …and call upon me in the day of trouble; I will deliver you, and you shall glorify me.
Leave a Reply

