Can I be Spiritually Neutral?

How should we view sin in our life?

Can I be spiritually neutral?

How do I go about gospel change when I come face to face with my sin?

How would you answer those questions? I don’t know (for sure) about you, but I can guess that we are all tempted to think lightly about sin, tempted to think that we can just coast along in our faith.

Our words betray how we really think and how we actually live. Have you found yourself using any of these flattering descriptions, instead of calling sin “sin”?

  • That’s an area I struggle with.
  • I failed again.
  • I don’t know why that issue is such a challenge to me?
  • The enemy defeated me again.

May I submit to you that God views our sin as something far more heinous and destructive to us and offensive to his infinite holinessness than a simple struggle, failure, defeat, challenge, mistake, problem, or hang up?!

One of our greatest challenges in life is to see our sin as God sees it. Let’s not use the self-help lingo of our day to pretty-up our sin. Let’s talk about sin the way Scripture talks about sin…

  • Active rebellion against the Creator King (Genesis 2-3).
  • Enemy warfare against a loving God (Romans 5:6-8)
  • Unbelief in God’s promises and character (Hebrews 3:12-13)
  • Refusal to honor God (Romans 1:18-23)
  • Treasonous self-worship (Ezekiel 28)

Over the next several weeks, Pastor Mark will be teaching us how to pursue Gospel-Change in our lives, a.k.a. how to actively fight sin by faith in the superior gospel-promises of God.

Imagine an entire church family committed to fighting sin together.

Imagine men meeting with men and women meeting with women regularly, purposefully and joyfully to fight sin together. (For some godly advice how to do this, read Jonathan Dodson’s article Fight Club.)

That’s our goal.

So in answer to the question, “As a follower of Jesus, can I just put it in ‘neutral’ when it comes to sin in my life?”

I think John Owen said it best, “Be killing sin, or sin will be killing you!”

Leave a Reply

