Tips for watching the Superbowl by CJ Mahaney

Here’s a post by CJ Mahaney has written a helpful post about Superbowl 44. Two things stand out here: First, CJ makes a prediction:

Given my love for sports I have an obligation to publish a public service announcement to prepare you for the impending Super Bowl…

O-V-E-R-R-A-T-E-D

The Super Bowl is the most overrated sporting event in the history of all sports, dating back to the very first Olympics. The NFL thinks so highly of itself, the Super Bowl is assigned Roman numerals.

Yet despite the hype, year after year this game rarely delivers. With few exceptions, most of these games are neither exciting nor memorable (unless your team is participating). With Peyton Manning and Drew Brees in the Super Bowl, there is at least a chance that Super Bowl 44 will be entertaining, but I doubt it.

Second, CJ provides four great tips for those watching the game. In the fourth he references a great quote by Tom Brady.

Why do I have three Super Bowl rings and still think there’s something greater out there for me? I mean, maybe a lot of people would say, “Hey man, this is what is.” I reached my goal, my dream, my life. I think, “God, it’s got to be more than this.” I mean this isn’t, this can’t be what it’s all cracked up to be.

You can read the whole things here.

Do you realize that the average price for a scalped ticket to this Superbowl is only $2,540 (down nearly $2,200 less than last year). Is that a bargian?

Compare that with the reality that there are over 6,000 people groups still not reached w/the Gospel, and our Savior is worthy of glory from every single 1 of them.

So Superbowl = O-V-E-R-R-A-T-E-D.  Living a life on mission, moved by the grace and glory of God = priceless.

Thanks to Corey and Katie Garrett, living in Senegal with SIM, for pointing me to this article, and for living out a life consistent with these truths.

Leave a Reply

