Parents, Do you Struggle with Control?

A soul-searching, hope-renewing post by Doug Wolter at Life Together.

God is parenting me as I parent my kids.  He’s showing me that if I still struggle with control, why do I get so angry when my 8 year old daughter struggles with it?  Why am I so impatient with her when God is so patient with me?  If you’re a parent that struggles with this let me share with you a book that has helped me.  It’s called, Grace Based Parenting by Tim Kimmel.  Here’s one quote worth meditating on:

I’m urging you to raise your children the way God raises His.  The primary word that defines how God deals with His children is grace.  Grace does not exclude obedience, respect, boundaries, or discipline, but it does determine the climate in which these important parts of parenting are carried out (p. 20).

Read the whole thing.

Leave a Reply

