I’m Back!

Hello Faith Family of Windham Baptist Church,

It feels so good to be back! How was sabbatical? It was great. The past three months remind me of the vacation of a lifetime that Tracy and I went on a few years ago. In case you didn’t know, some friends blessed Tracy and I with an all-inclusive trip to a resort in Cancun. We had never experienced anything like it – warm sun, nice food, and no kids for a week.

As you can imagine, it was an amazing time. We were free to rest, talk deeply without interruption, see new sights and do completely different things (…like ride dolphins). While we loved being away, we really missed our family. We couldn’t wait to get home.

Sabbatical was just like that. These past three months freed me to study deeply, to rest, to spend extra time with Tracy and the kids, to visit some other churches and see what God is doing, and to evaluate where God is leading WBC. It was great! But I was conflicted – I wanted to be here because I missed my (faith) family.

So what did I do? Let me name a few things to give you and idea:

  • We spent the first week at a cabin in Maine, resting as a family.
  • We spent the next two weeks driving around the Midwest – visiting friends and spending time with key mentors.
  • Before the kids went back to school we prioritized intentional time with them and with extended family.
  • Once the kids went back to school I would dedicate four days a week to deep study, prayer, and soul care. This was intentional – Tracy works outside the home, and did so during the entire sabbatical (even from Chicago) so I tried to remain available to her when she was not working.
  • I dedicated one day to concentrated Sabbath rest each week.
  • We traveled on some of our weekends – visiting churches and family.
  • I also worked in a trip to Virginia last weekend to play lacrosse against a bunch of college students from Liberty University (I am still in one piece and even scored a goal).

I look forward to sharing more from this time with you. This Sunday I will be in the pulpit and plan to share some of the results of this precious time. I encourage you to come and hear more. I also encourage you to feel free to ask questions – I would love to share with you.

Most of all I would like to thank you all for all that you have done to make this possible. I know this is a unique gift – one that many will never experience. Thank you for giving and serving and praying and loving us enough to give us this gift. We are deeply grateful.

Love,

Pastor Mark

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Vicki Norris on October 18, 2011 at 6:59 pm

    Looking forward to your stories and testimonies.
    Vic

    Reply

Leave a Reply

