Discipline or Desperation?

Do you struggle with reading your Bible regularly? (Don’t lie!) Maybe you’re approaching it wrong. It’s not about discipline. It’s about desperation. Are you desperate to hear from God? Do you know life won’t make sense unless you hear from him? That’s why we read HIS word.

Take 5 and read this article by Tim Chester, “Hearing God Speak.” You’ll be blessed. Here’s a snippet…

Let me tell you about an amazing experience I had just this morning. Actually “amazing” doesn’t really do it justice. It was out of this world.

This morning God spoke to me.

I know that sounds weird, but I’m sure that’s what happened. The God who made the universe actually spoke to me. I could hear what He was saying just as clearly as you can understand what you’re reading now.

The words He spoke felt like words of life to me.

It was like they resounded deep in my heart.

  • There were words of instruction that helped me know Him more and understand his ways.
  • There were words of challenge that called me to follow Him better and love Him more.
  • There were words of comfort that spoke to my needs and gave me hope. It was like medicine to my soul. It was like a rousing speech before battle. It was like a love song sung to my heart.

But there’s more. (read the whole thing, here.)

Leave a Reply

